Tao 20

The difference between yes and no, good and evil,
is unclear to me.
Am I wrong to not automatically accept the opinions of others as my own?
That seems like a silly thing to do.

Other folks seem content to go happily about their business:
feasting on holidays and relaxing on the weekends.
It seems like I’m the only one not sure of my surroundings.
I am like a baby who hasn’t yet figured out what happiness is:
Unsure of what I should be doing.

Others have more than they need; I am poor by comparison.
Others are certain; I question.
Others are clever; I am naive.
Others are busy; I am unoccupied.

I drift without direction, aimless like the winds and waves.
I am different.
I am unformed, like a new babe.


Note: Though in the end we chose to go with the above translation, it was very difficult to settle on one. Sometime soon, we will write a post to explain our difficulties. In the meantime, please feel free to add your own translations or interpretations in the comment section.


All 81 chapters of our version of the Tao Te Ching are available online for free here. If you are so inclined, an updated version of our translation is available as an e-book, here.

Leave a Reply

